Ashtanga Yoga

The Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

Yama: Self-restraint
Niyama: Self Purification, Personal Observances
Asana: Seat or Posture
Pranayama: Breath Control
Pratyahara: Sense Withdrawal
Dharana: Concentration
Dhyana: Meditation
Samadhi: Absorption, Enlightenment

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of yoga codified and popularized by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century which is often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. [1] Ashtanga means eight limbs or branches of yoga mentioned in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, of which asana or physical yoga posture is merely one branch, breath or pranayama is another. Both Pattabhi Jois and Sharath Jois, his grandson, encourage practice of Ashtanga Yoga – all eight limbs. The first two limbs – Yamas and Niyamas – are given special emphasis to be practiced in conjunction with the 3rd and 4th limbs (asana and pranayama). [2] Sri K. Pattabhi Jois began his yoga studies in 1927 at the age of 12, and by 1948 had established the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute for teaching the specific yoga practice known as Ashtanga (Sanskrit अष्टांग, "eight-limbed") Yoga. [3] The current style of teaching is called Mysore style.